Sunshine Coast Canada
Arts, Heritage + Culture
Non-profit Society Network

Fall Family Story Time

Saturdays to Dec 11th. Join Sam on Saturdays on the library lawn (weather permitting) or in the Children’s Area for a drop-in Family Storytime featuring books, songs, and play. Careful social contact will be maintained. Masks mandatory for those 12 and up.

PR – Summer Art Camp 2021

Aug 30 – Sep 3. Ages 6 to 13. The Summer Art Camp is a week long camp in The Art Centre Studio, nearby forest and beach from 9am to 3pm.

Artists Julie Briscoe and Jazz Rico will guide explorations in painting and multidisciplinary creativity inspired by nature to develop each campers language of expression.

More details here.

August Reading Walk

to Aug 31. Enjoy self-guided outdoor reading walks at the library all summer. Follow the signs to read ‘My Toothbrush is Missing’ by Jan Thomas
for the month of August. Learn more from the Gibsons Library.

PR – YRC Pride “Explore Your Drag” for youth 13-19.

From 10.30am to 5pm queer youth, friends and allies can enjoy this free workshop in Powell River to learn improv skills, discover their authentic selves, develop a drag persona and get made up in boy or girl drag for a final walk down the red carpet. A safe space workshop offered by Powell River Child Youth and Family Services in partnership with qathet Pride. Our host for the day Mz Conni Smudge, Vancouver 25 year veteran drag queen. To register email hgordon@youthandfamily.ca by noon Friday Aug 13.

Botanical Garden Storywalk

to Aug 15th. Read a book while enjoying nature with a family StoryWalk®. Visit anytime during the week. A StoryWalk® is an outdoor walk where a book’s pages have been posted along the trail. Families can read the book together as they enjoy a walk through the outdoors! No registration required.

 

A Little Bit of Broadway

Aug 6-7. Musical theatre excerpts performed by our ‘Synergy at Play’ Youth Ensemble

Tickets $15 General Admission

$10 – 12yrs and under

Free for 5 and under

Musical Theatre Intensive Summer 2021

July 26 – Aug 6. Show dates Aug 6-7. For kids and youth. Featuring daily singing, dancing, and acting workshops. With ensemble work and personal coaching, all taught by industry professionals. Registration and more info 778.819.3567. Email here.

Week one will be outdoors, week two will be at the Gibsons Heritage Playhouse.

Kids Summer Camp: Fun with Collage! with Nadina Tandy

Nadina Tandy will lead a workshop that shares experiments with collage – from eco-experiments, to exploring creating creatures, this will be a fun way to learn skills in collage making, mixed media experiments and playing with performance. Nadina Tandy has extensive experience in varied aspects of art and culture, since 1988. She earned a Fine Arts diploma from Langara College (Vancouver) and studied drawing and painting at Emily Carr University of Art + Design (Vancouver).

Summer Author Talk: Saadia Faruqi

Saadia Faruqi, Pakistani American children’s author, will talk about her publication journey, give some tips to aspiring writers, and read from her latest book. This event is open to youth age 6+.

Live streamed via YouTube. Register for this event by phone 604.886.2130, email, or in-person.

Summer Author Talk: Tracey Baptiste

New York Times bestselling author Tracey Baptiste will talk about being creative under pressure. She will introduce her body of work, including The Jumbies series, Minecraft: The Crash, as well as her upcoming picture book and nonfiction book for middle-school readers. The presentation will cover her writing process, why she writes both fiction and nonfiction for readers from preschool through high school, and how each book came together. This event is open to youth age 8+.

Register for this event by phone 604-886-2130, email, or in-person.

Kids Summer Camp: Painting with Acrylics with Bruce Edwards

Bruce Edwards is a long-time art teacher who will guide lessons in observation and painting with acrylic. From observation and sketching to working with acrylic paint, participants will have fun while learning to explore the possibilities of paint. Bruce Edwards has been a muralist, instructor and graphic designer for more than twenty years. He has taught at the elementary, high school and adult levels throughout the Northwest and Alaska.

Summer Author Talk: Erin Entrada Kelly

New York Times bestselling author Erin Entrada Kelly was awarded the Newbery Medal for Hello, Universe and a Newbery Honor for We Dream of Space. In this event she will be talking about her latest illustrated novel for middle graders, Maybe Maybe Marisol Rainey – a book about summer, friendship, and overcoming fears! Eight-year-old Marisol Rainey is an irresistible new character who will appeal to fans of Clementine and Ramona the Pest. This event is open to youth age 8+.

Register for this event by phone (604-886-2130), email, or in-person.

Claymation for Kids Workshop

July 17th & 24th from 10AM-12PM. Local artist Daniel Nakasone likes to mix new technologies and artistic expression using different materials such as clay and drawings. His goal for the workshops is to let children learn the basic tools to create their own mini-stories, learn to work cooperatively and develop a sense of self-affirmation. He has been teaching artistic workshops for the last 9 years in both Peru and Canada, and is excited to hear and see the stories the children of the Coast are willing to share.

Only 6 spaces available!

All materials included.

Kid’s Summer Camps

July 14-16; July 21-23; July 28-30. Ages 8-13. This year we are delighted to offer 3 kid’s summer workshops in July. Each workshop combines art making with outdoor exploration.  In the morning participants learn to weave, collage or paint led by a senior artist/teacher. In the afternoon, walks and discussions take over as we explore natural spaces near the Art Centre. Workshops run 10:00 – 3:00 each day, with a break provided for lunch. Participants must bring their own lunch, a water bottle and a mask for any indoor activities.

For more info or to register visit sunshinecoastartscouncil.com/camps/

Kids Summer Camp: The Magic of Weaving with Jess Silvey

Join artist Jessica Silvey for an introduction to weaving with various materials including cedar. You will have a chance to weave a bracelet and a mat, and to learn how materials are harvested and prepared. Jess is a self-taught weaver of Coast Salish and Portugese descent, of the Silvey Family of Egmont, BC. Many of her childhood hours were spent with her paternal Grandmother in the forest. It is her favourite place to be, surrounded by cedar trees and silence. She has learned traditional techniques from research as well as trial and error. She harvests and prepares many of her own materials.

Feature Attractions

Map — How to get here

Google Map
Sunshine Coast Map